Faerbung

Seaborne
handling

100 % green electricity

AGV area

50 % green electricity
50 % CO₂ compensation

Container
yard

100 % green electricity

Onshore
handling

CO₂ compensation

Rail
terminal

100 % green electricity
HHLA Logo

The world’s first climate-neutral
container terminal

Scroll down to find out more
about how HHLA Container Terminal Altenwerder electrifies its processes

Climate-neutral container handling

HHLA Container Terminal Altenwerder (CTA) in Hamburg is the world’s first container handling facility to be certified climate-neutral. Its operations are primarily powered by green electricity, and terminal processes that still produce CO₂ emissions today are either being gradually electrified or their transition to electrification is being tested. HHLA is offsetting its remaining CO₂emissions with climate-friendly projects that have been granted Gold Standard certification in accordance with Voluntary Emission Reduction (VER). These include:

Regenwald-Pflanze

Restoration
of rainforests
in Panama

Windkraftanlage

Wind farms
in India

Schiff

Low-friction
anti-fouling
paint for ships

Seaborne handling

14 electric container gantry cranes, each weighing about 2,000 tonnes, load and unload containers to and from ships in the four berths at Container Terminal Altenwerder’s 1,400-metre-long quayside. The cranes run entirely on green electricity.

14

electric container gantry cranes

Automated transport vehicles

Approximately 90 automated guided vehicles (AGVs) transport the containers from the gantry cranes to the yard. Half of these AGVs are already battery-driven, while the rest are still powered by diesel and diesel-electric drives. From the end of 2022, all AGVs will be powered by fast-charging lithium-ion batteries. All batteries are charged using green electricity.

50

percent of the AGVs are battery-driven

Automated container yard

The AGV drives the container to one of the 26 storage blocks where one of two gantry cranes (called rail-mounted gantry cranes or RMGs) unloads the container for temporary storage. The RMGs operate automatically, even in the dark, so lights are only turned on in certain areas or when needed. This provides electricity savings roughly equivalent to the volume used by 500 four-person households per year.

2,000,000

KILOWATT HOURS SAVED
PER YEAR BY NOT USING
NIGHT-TIME ILLUMINATION

Onshore handling

Tractive units transport the steel boxes to the terminal’s own container rail terminal. While they are still powered by conventional diesel, electric tractive units are undergoing intensive testing at CTA.

Complete electrification
of tractive units by

2025

Rail terminal

Nine parallel tracks, each of approximately 700 metres, give CTA the highest throughput of any container rail terminal in Europe. Four electric gantry cranes with rotating trolleys process trains here. Checkers in five electric cars make sure no containers are damaged and all seals are in order.

70

PERCENT LESS
NITROGEN DIOXIDE
THROUGH THE USE OF
HYBRID LOCOMOTIVES

Driving on
electric power

HHLA employees cover the sometimes long distances between offices, quayside and rail terminal using 37 electrically-powered cars and vans. Rail checkers monitor the containers for intact seals and damage using five checkmobiles, which are also powered by electricity.

37

ELECTRICALLY-POWERED CARS
USED AT THE CTA

“Innovation in climate
protection and sustainable
business practices are two
sides of the same coin to us.”

Angela Titzrath,
Chairwoman of the Executive Board
Hamburger Hafen und Logistik AG

Balanced Logistics

Container Terminal Altenwerder is a crucial element in HHLA’s sustainability strategy. The facility in the Port of Hamburg is one of the most modern and efficient in the world. Since going into service in 2002, it has been continually further developed.

The independent assessor TÜV NORD has calculated CTA’s current CO₂ footprint using factors such as diesel and gas consumption, employees’ daily commute and upstream supply chain emissions for all energy sources used. The CO₂ value calculated is offset by HHLA’s targeted compensatory measures.


Legal Data Protection Declaration

Powerful cranes

Every year, the container gantry cranes load and unload more than 500 large container ships and approximately 1,600 feeders (smaller container ships), as well as over 1,000 inland waterway ships.

Supporting the Energy Transition

During periods of downtime, the AGVs dock at the charging stations to stabilise the mains supply frequency, either collecting surplus energy from the power grid or feeding energy back as a primary reserve. HHLA is making an important contribution to the success of the energy transition with these measures. To be able to temporarily provide reserve power of a maximum of 4 megawatts to the power market, HHLA is setting up twice as many charging stations at Container Terminal Altenwerder as are logistically necessary.

Saving in the dark

If light is needed, LED lamps are used, which consume less energy while providing the same intensity of light. In contrast to lamps previously used, these immediately reach their full level of brightness when switched on and can be switched on and off frequently without being damaged. In addition, the power requirements of the LED spotlights in use have been reduced.

Removal of
containers by trucks

Staff onshore distribute the containers manually, manoeuvring them with the help of a camera and a joystick. Most containers are transported off-site by trucks. HHLA has no influence on their CO₂ emissions, or on those of the container ships, so only HHLA’s activities can be certified.

Powerfully ecological

Overhead cables can’t be installed here because of the rail gantry cranes. Instead, the world’s first hybrid locomotives, acquired from HHLA subsidiary Metrans, operate at CTA. These locomotives produce up to 50 percent less CO₂ and up to 70 percent less nitrogen dioxide. Depending on the assignment, the shunting locomotive can run on battery power for between 50 and 70 percent of the time it is in operation, reducing fuel consumption by up to 50 percent.

CO₂
-50%
NO₂
-70%
Fuel
-50%

Quick power-up

Each electric car has its own rapid charging station at the terminal, which provides it with enough energy for 80 percent of its maximum range in 15 minutes. As a result, the vehicles are always ready for use and can cover distances of up to 150 kilometres.

Faerbung

Wasserseitiger
Umschlag

100 % Ökostrom

AGV-Bereich

50 % Ökostrom
50 % CO₂-Kompensation

Container-
Lager

100 % Ökostrom

Landseitiger
Umschlag

CO₂-Kompensation

Terminal
Bahnhof

100 % Ökostrom
HHLA Logo

Der erste klimaneutrale
Containerterminal der Welt

Erfahren Sie hier
wie der HHLA Container Terminal Altenwerder seine Prozesse elektrifiziert

Klimaneutraler Containerumschlag

Der HHLA Container Terminal Altenwerder (CTA) in Hamburg ist die weltweit erste zertifiziert klimaneutrale Umschlaganlage für Container. Der Betrieb erfolgt überwiegend elektrifiziert mit Ökostrom. Terminalprozesse, die heute noch CO₂-Emissionen verursachen, werden sukzessive auf elektrifizierten Betrieb umgestellt beziehungsweise die Umstellung wird erprobt. Verbleibende CO₂-Emissionen kompensiert die HHLA durch klimafreundliche Projekte, die nach dem Gold Standard gemäß VER (Voluntary Emission Reduction) zertifiziert sind. Dazu gehören:

Regenwald-Pflanze

Aufforstung
von Regenwald
in Panama

Windkraftanlage

Windkraft­anlagen
in Indien

Schiff

Reibungsarme
Antifouling-
Schiffsfarben

Wasserseitiger Umschlag

An der 1.400 Meter langen Wasserseite laden und löschen 14 elektrische Containerbrücken – jede rund 2.000 Tonnen schwer – Container in oder aus Schiffen an den vier Liegeplätzen des Container Terminals Altenwerder (CTA). Die Kräne arbeiten vollständig mit Ökostrom.

14

Elektrische Containerbrücken

Automatische Transportfahrzeuge

Rund 90 Automated Guided Vehicles, kurz AGV genannt, transportieren die Container von den Brücken zum Lager. 50 Prozent der AGV fahren schon mit Batterie, die anderen 50 Prozent noch mit Diesel und dieselelektrischem Antrieb. Ab Ende 2022 werden dann alle AGV von schnell ladefähigen Lithium-Ionen-Akkus angetrieben. Alle Akkus laden Ökostrom.

50

PROZENT DER AGV MIT ELEKTROANTRIEB

Automatisiertes Containerlager

Das AGV fährt den Container zu einem der 26 Lagerblöcke, wo einer von jeweils zwei Portalkränen (Rail Mounted Gantry Crane oder RMG genannt) den Container zur Zwischenlagerung ablädt. Die RMG arbeiten automatisch – auch in der Dunkelheit. Licht wird deshalb nur in bestimmten Bereichen und bei Bedarf eingeschaltet. Das spart so viel Strom, wie 500 Vierpersonenhaushalte im Jahr verbrauchen.

2.000.000

KWH EINSPARUNG PRO JAHR
DURCH WEGFALLENDE
NACHTBELEUCHTUNG

Landseitiger Umschlag

Zugmaschinen transportieren die Stahlkisten zum terminaleigenen Containerbahnhof. Derzeit geschieht das noch mit herkömmlichen Dieselfahrzeugen. Doch Elektrozugmaschinen werden auf dem CTA auf Herz und Nieren getestet.

Vollständige Elektrifizierung
der Zugmaschinen bis

2025

Terminalbahnhof

Mit neun parallelen, rund 700 Meter langen Gleisen verfügt der CTA über den umschlagstärksten Containerbahnhof Europas. Vier elektrifizierte Portalkräne mit Drehkatzen fertigen hier Züge ab. Sogenannte Checker in E-Autos prüfen, ob kein Container beschädigt ist und alle Siegel in Ordnung sind.

70

PROZENT WENIGER
STICKSTOFFDIOXID DURCH
EINSATZ VON HYBRIDLOKS

Elektrisch
unterwegs

Die teilweise sehr langen Wege auf dem Terminal zwischen Büros, Kaikante und Bahnhof legen die HHLA-Mitarbeiter mit 37 elektrisch betriebenen PKw und Kleintransportern zurück. Mit fünf sogenannten Checkmobilen – ebenfalls mit elektrischem Antrieb – überprüfen die Bahnchecker die Container auf intakte Siegel und Beschädigungen.

37

E-PKW IM
EINSATZ AM CTA

„Für uns sind innovative
Lösungen für den Klimaschutz
und nachhaltiges Wirtschaften
zwei Seiten einer Medaille.“

Angela Titzrath,
Vorstandsvorsitzende der Hamburger Hafen
und Logistik AG

Balanced Logistics

Der Container Terminal Altenwerder ist ein entscheidendes Element der Nachhaltigkeitsstrategie der HHLA. Die Anlage im Hamburger Hafen ist eine der modernsten und effizientesten der Welt. Seit der Inbetriebnahme 2002 wird sie stetig weiterentwickelt.

Als unabhängiger Gutachter hat der TÜV NORD den aktuellen CO₂-Fußabdruck des CTA berechnet. Dabei eingeflossen sind unter anderem Diesel- und Gasverbräuche, die tägliche Anfahrt der Mitarbeiter und Vorkettenemissionen aller eingesetzten Energiequellen. Den ermittelten CO₂-Wert gleicht die HHLA durch gezielte Kompensationsmaßnahmen aus.


Impressum Datenschutz

Kräftige Kräne

Die Containerbrücken be- und entladen jährlich mehr als 500 große sowie rund 1.600 kleinere Containerschiffe, sogenannte Feeder. Hinzu kommen mehr als 1.000 Binnenschiffe im Jahr.

Unterstützung der Energiewende

Wenn der Terminalbetrieb es zulässt, docken die AGV an die Stromtankstellen an. Aber nicht unbedingt, um zu laden, sondern um die Netzfrequenz des Stromnetzes zu stabilisieren. Dazu nehmen sie entweder überschüssige Energie aus dem Stromnetz auf oder geben Energie als sogenannte Primärregelleistung zurück. Dadurch leistet die HHLA einen wichtigen Beitrag zum Gelingen der Energiewende. Um dem Strommarkt temporär Regelleistungen von maximal 4 MW anbieten zu können, errichtet die HHLA auf dem CTA doppelt so viele Stromtankstellen, wie logistisch notwendig wären.

Sparsam im Dunkeln

Wird doch Licht benötigt, kommen Leuchtdioden zum Einsatz, die bei gleicher Lichtstärke weniger Energie verbrauchen. Diese entfalten, im Gegensatz zu den bisher eingesetzten Lampen, beim Einschalten sofort ihre volle Lichtstärke und lassen sich ohne Schäden häufig ein- und ausschalten. Außerdem wurde auch die Leistung der eingesetzten LED-Strahler reduziert.

Abtransport der
Container durch Lkw

An der Landseite erfolgt die Ausgabe der Container manuell durch Mitarbeiter. Diese setzen ihn mit Hilfe einer Kamera und eines Joysticks ab. Die meisten Container werden per Lkw abtransportiert. Auf deren CO₂-Emissionen hat die HHLA, genau wie auf die der Containerschiffe, keinerlei Einfluss. Deswegen können nur die HHLA-Aktivitäten zertifiziert werden.

Kraftvoll Ökologisch

Wegen der Bahnkräne können hier keine Oberleitungen verlegt werden und keine E-Loks fahren. Deshalb rangieren auf dem CTA die ersten Hybrid-Loks der Welt, angeschafft von der HHLA-Tochter Metrans. Sie produzieren bis zu 50 Prozent weniger CO₂ und bis 70 Prozent weniger Stickstoffdioxid. Je nach Einsatz fährt die Rangierlokomotive zwischen 50 und 70 Prozent ihrer Betriebszeit im Batteriebetrieb. Das senkt den Kraftstoffverbrauch um bis zu 50 Prozent.

CO₂
-50%
NO₂
-70%
Kraftstoff
-50%

Schnell unter Strom

Jedes E-Auto hat auf dem Terminal eine eigene Schnellladesäule, die den Wagen in 15 Minuten mit Energie für 80 Prozent der maximalen Reichweite versorgt. So sind die Fahrzeuge immer einsatzbereit und können Entfernungen von bis zu 150 Kilometern zurücklegen.